BSB MLB Awards: Rookie of the Year

BSB thinks Heyward was snubbed.

This season, we’re going to announce our MLB Awards (roughly) when the actual awards are announced.  The real awards are voted on by the so-called “experts” of the Baseball Writers’ Association of America but, fear not, because BSB is here to set the record straight.  Like the actual writers that vote on these awards, we made our packs back in early October, before the postseason.

We start with our Rookie of the Year picks.  The “actual” award winners were Giants’ catcher Buster Posey and Rangers’ closer Neftali Feliz.

NL Rookie of the Year:


  1. Jason Heyward-RF (ATL)
  2. Buster Posey-C (SF)
  3. Jaime Garcia-SP (STL)
  4. Mike Stanton-RF (FLA)
  5. Steven Strasburg-SP (WAS)


  1. Jason Heyward-RF (ATL)
  2. Buster Posey-C (SF)
  3. Jaime Garcia-SP (STL)
  4. Starlin Castro-SS (CHC)
  5. Mike Stanton-RF (FLA)

So, the unanimous BSB NL Rookie of the Year is Heyward, NOT the actual winner, in what Bry called “the best ROY race I can remember.”  Again, we made these picks well before the NLCS, so it’s not bitterness that made us go against Posey.  In fact, if we were being unbiased at all, we had more reason to go against the young star of our division rival. 

Both of us gave Heyward the edge because he was in the Braves’ starting line-up on Opening Day, while Posey didn’t come to the majors until almost two months into the season.  It was a close call.  Both guys played key roles for playoff teams, but Heyward did it for a whole season.  We agree on Garcia as the best rookie pitcher in the NL this year.  Bry stuck Strasburg on his ballot on the strength of just 12 starts, while Doogan opts for Castro, who hit .300 for the Cubs.

AL Rookie of the Year:


  1. Neftali Feliz-RP (TEX)
  2. Austin Jackson-CF (DET)
  3. Wade Davis-SP (TB)
  4. John Jaso-C (TB)
  5. Danny Valencia-3B (MIN)


  1. Neftali Feliz-RP (TEX)
  2. Austin Jackson-CF (DET)
  3. Wade Davis-SP (TB)
  4. Brian Matusz-SP (BAL)
  5. Alexi Ogando-RP (TEX)

BSB is in agreement with the actual voters on Feliz as AL ROY.  The crop of AL rookies was nowhere near the talent and depth of the NL.  Jackson hit .297 with 27 steals, while Davis won 12 games for the NL East champs.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to BSB MLB Awards: Rookie of the Year

  1. I do not even understand how I stopped up here, but I believed this
    post was great. I do not realize who you are but definitely you’re going to a well-known
    blogger should you are not already. Cheers!

  2. home page says:

    constantly i used to read smaller articles that
    as well clear their motive, and that is also happening with this piece
    of writing which I am reading now.

  3. If you are going for best contents like I do, just pay
    a quick visit this site daily for the reason that it gives feature contents, thanks

  4. I absolutely love your blog and find almost
    all of your post’s to be exactly what I’m looking for.
    can you offer guest writers to write content for you personally?
    I wouldn’t mind publishing a post or elaborating on many of the subjects you write concerning here.
    Again, awesome weblog!

  5. What’s Happening i am new to this, I stumbled upon this I
    have found It absolutely useful and it has helped me out
    loads. I hope to contribute & help other users like its helped me.
    Great job.

  6. Hello it’s me, I am also visiting this site on a regular basis,
    this website is truly fastidious and the people are truly sharing nice thoughts.

  7. What’s up everyone, it’s my first go to see at this web site, and article is actually fruitful designed for me, keep
    up posting these types of posts.

  8. I would like to thank you for the efforts you have put in writing this blog.
    I’m hoping to view the same high-grade content from you later on as well.
    In fact, your creative writing abilities has inspired me to get my own, personal website
    now 😉

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *